Media contact list

This list provides generic newsroom contacts for national and regional media outlets, including newspapers, websites, TV and radio.

The list is broken down into the following sections:

You can also download our media contact list below:

This list was last updated in August 2022.

Please bear in mind it is a starting point only. When you’re trying to get your news out, think about what types of journalists might be interested in your story and who you’re trying to reach.

If you have time, you can usually find contact details for specific journalists or rounds on the internet, for example contact details for different Radio NZ programmes at www.radionz.co.nz/programmes, or or the DomPost newsroom at www.stuff.co.nz/dominion-post/300318185/get-in-touch-with-the-dompost-newsroom.

Pitching the story first and following up with an email, or following up your media release with a phone call can increase your chances of getting coverage.

If you spot any errors or want to suggest some additions to this list, get in touch. Thanks!

Daily newspapers

Name Email Phone
Bay of Plenty Times news@bayofplentytimes.co.nz 07 577 7770
Christchurch Press reporters@press.co.nz 03 364 8494
Dominion Post news@dompost.co.nz 04 474 0428
Gisborne Herald editorial@gisborneherald.co.nz 06 869 0600
Greymouth Star editor@greystar.co.nz 03 768 7122
Hawke's Bay Today news@hbtoday.co.nz 06 873 0800
Herald on Sunday news@hos.co.nz 09 379 5050
Manawatu Standard editor@msl.co.nz 06 350 9838
Marlborough Express mailbox@marlexpress.co.nz 03 520 8929
Nelson Mail chiefreporter@nelsonmail.co.nz 03 546 2877
New Zealand Herald newsdesk@nzherald.co.nz 09 379 5050
Northern Advocate reporters@northernadvocate.co.nz 09 470 2899
Oamaru Mail news@oamarumail.co.nz 03 434 9970
Otago Daily Times editor@odt.co.nz 03 479 3573
Rotorua Daily Post news@dailypost.co.nz 07 348 6199
Southland Times news@stl.co.nz 03 211 1130
Sunday News editor@sunday-news.co.nz 09 925 9934
Sunday Star Times news@star-times.co.nz 09 925 9814
Taranaki Daily News editor@dailynews.co.nz 06 757 6862
Timaru Herald editor@timaruherald.co.nz 03 687 1350
Waikato Times news@waikatotimes.co.nz 07 849 9666
Wairarapa Times Age editor@age.co.nz 06 370 0921
Wanganui Chronicle news@wanganuichronicle.co.nz 06 349 0728
Westport News editorial@westportnews.co.nz 03 789 7319
Back to top

Radio

Name Email Phone
Newstalk ZB news@newstalkzb.co.nz 09 366 0466
RNZ news@radionz.co.nz 04 474 1999
Today FM news@mediaworks.co.nz 09 956 4976
Back to top

TV

Name Email Phone
Māori TV shareyournews@maoritelevision.com 09 539 7197
Newshub news@newshub.co.nz 09 928 9000
Prime News primenews@skytv.co.nz 09 414 0705
TVNZ ONE News news@tvnz.co.nz 09 916 7000
Back to top

Online

Name Email Phone
Daily Encourager wayne.graham@encourager.co.nz
Fuseworks Media news@fuseworksmedia.com
Make Lemonade kip@makelemonade.nz 0275 030188
Newsroom contact@newsroom.co.nz 09 869 2940
NZ Herald online online-editor@nzherald.co.nz 09 379 5050
NZ Newswire news@nznewswire.co.nz 04 917 5100
Scoop editor@scoop.co.nz 04 910 1844
The Spinoff info@thespinoff.co.nz
Stuff newsroom@stuff.co.nz 04 474 0090
TVNZ Online onlinenews@tvnz.co.nz
Voxy news@digitaladvance.co.nz
Yahoo! New Zealand forbes@yahoo-inc.com
Back to top

Greater Wellington regional media

Name Email Phone
Capital Magazine editor@capitalmag.co.nz 04 385 1426
Eastbourne Herald editor@eastbourneherald.co.nz 04 562 7500
Hello Wellington geoff@hellomedia.co.nz
Hutt News editor@huttnews.co.nz 04 589 7622
Horowhenua Chronicle news@chronicle.co.nz 04 589 7622
Horowhenua Mail editor@horomail.co.nz 04 298 5019
Kapi-Mana News editor@kmananews.co.nz 04 237 8118
Kapiti Observer editor@kapiti-observer.co.nz 04 298 5019
Independent News news@wsn.co.nz 04 587 1660
Regional News news@regionalnews.kiwi
Upper Hutt Leader editor@uhleader.co.nz 04 528 9654
Wainuiomata News news@wsn.co.nz 04 587 1660
Wairarapa News editor@wainews.co.nz 06 370 5690
Wellington Access Radio info@accessradio.org.nz 04 385 8783
Back to top

Greater Auckland regional media

Name Email Phone
The Aucklander news@theaucklander.co.nz 09 373 6969
Central Leader aucklandnewsroom@stuff.co.nz 09 374 4752
Devonport Flagstaff news@devonportflagstaff.co.nz 09 445 0060
East & Bays Courier aucklandnewsroom@stuff.co.nz 09 374 4752
Eastern Courier aucklandnewsroom@stuff.co.nz 09 374 4752
Hibiscus Matters terry@localmatters.co.nz 09 427 8188
Mahurangi Matters editor@localmatters.co.nz 09 425 9068
Manukau Courier aucklandnewsroom@stuff.co.nz 09 374 4752
Newmarket magazine zara@newmarket.co.nz
North Harbour News aucklandnewsroom@stuff.co.nz 09 374 4752
North Shore Times aucklandnewsroom@stuff.co.nz 09 374 4752
Nor-West News aucklandnewsroom@stuff.co.nz 09 374 4752
OurAuckland ourauckland@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
Papakura Courier aucklandnewsroom@stuff.co.nz 09 374 4752
Planet FM Access Radio info@planetaudio.org.nz 09 815 8100
Pohutukawa Coast Times info@pctimes.co.nz 021 426 207
Ponsonby News info@ponsonbynews.co.nz 09 378 8553
Rodney Times aucklandnewsroom@stuff.co.nz 09 374 4752
Times Online editor@times.co.nz 09 271 8040
Verve fran@vervemagazine.co.nz 09 520 5939
Western Leader aucklandnewsroom@stuff.co.nz 09 374 4752
Back to top

Canterbury regional media

Name Email Phone
Ashburton Courier daniel.tobin@ashburtoncourier.co.nz 03 308 7664
Ashburton Guardian reporters@theguardian.co.nz 03 307 7958
Bay Harbour News general@starmedia.kiwi 03 379 7100
Latitude Magazine lucinda@latitudemagazine.co.nz 03 308 6638
Metropol Magazine editor@metros.co.nz 03 343 3669
North Canterbury News robyn.bristow@ncnews.co.nz 027 312 1581
Northern Outlook reporters@press.co.nz
Nor'West News general@starmedia.kiwi 03 379 7100
Pegasus Post natalie.pharm@starmedia.kiwi 022 013 6028
Plains FM Access Radio info@plainsfm.org.nz 03 365 7997
Selwyn Times susan.sandys@starmedia.kiwi 09 374 4752
Southern View natalie.pharm@starmedia.kiwi 022 013 6028
The Star barry@starmedia.kiwi 021 359 426
Back to top

Back to Media relations