Media contact list

This list provides generic newsroom contacts for national and regional media outlets, including newspapers, websites, TV and radio.

The list is broken down into the following sections:

You can also download our media contact list below:

Please bear in mind it is a starting point only. When you’re trying to get your news out, think about what types of journalists might be interested in your story and who you’re trying to reach.

If you have time, you can usually find contact details for specific journalists or rounds on the internet, for example contact details for different Radio NZ programmes at www.radionz.co.nz/programmes, or One News reporters at www.tvnz.co.nz/one-news/one-news-team.html.

Pitching the story first and following up with an email, or following up your media release with a phone call can increase your chances of getting coverage.

If you spot any errors or want to suggest some additions to this list, get in touch. Thanks!

National Media

Name Email Phone
Ashburton Guardian newsroom@theguardian.co.nz 03 307 7958
Bay of Plenty Times news@bayofplentytimes.co.nz 07 577 7770
Christchurch Press reporters@press.co.nz 03 364 8494
Dominion Post news@dompost.co.nz 04 474 0428
Fairfax Canterbury and Otago kamala.hayman@fairfaxmedia.co.nz 09 970 4000
Fairfax Community jeremy.rees@fairfaxmedia.co.nz 09 970 4000
Fairfax Malborough nicola.coburn@fairfaxmedia.co.nz 09 970 4000
Fairfax Manawatu Jonathon.howe@fairfaxmedia.co.nz 09 970 4000
Fairfax Nelson Victoria.guild@fairfaxmedia.co.nz 09 970 4000
Fairfax South Canterbury sarah.jarvis@fairfaxmedia.co.nz 09 970 4000
Fairfax Southland Natasha.holland@fairfaxmedia.co.nz 09 970 4000
Fairfax Taranaki Ryan.evans@fairfaxmedia.co.nz 09 970 4000
Gisborne Herald editorial@gisborneherald.co.nz 06 869 0600
Greymouth Star editor@greystar.co.nz 03 768 7122
Hawke's Bay Today news@hbtoday.co.nz 06 873 0800
Herald on Sunday news@hos.co.nz 09 379 5050
Manawatu Standard editor@msl.co.nz 06 350 9838
Marlborough Express mailbox@marlexpress.co.nz 03 520 8929
Nelson Mail chiefreporter@nelsonmail.co.nz 03 546 2877
New Zealand Herald newsdesk@nzherald.co.nz 09 379 5050
Northern Advocate reporters@northernadvocate.co.nz 09 470 2899
Oamaru Mail news@oamarumail.co.nz 03 434 9970
Otago Daily Times editor@odt.co.nz 03 479 3573
Rotorua Daily Post news@dailypost.co.nz 07 348 6199
Southland Times news@stl.co.nz 03 211 1130
Sunday News editor@sunday-news.co.nz 09 925 9934
Sunday Star Times news@star-times.co.nz 09 925 9814
Taranaki Daily News editor@dailynews.co.nz 06 757 6862
Timaru Herald editor@timaruherald.co.nz 03 687 1350
Waikato Times news@waikatotimes.co.nz 07 849 9666
Wairarapa Times Age editor@age.co.nz 06 370 0921
Wanganui Chronicle news@wanganuichronicle.co.nz 06 349 0728
Westport News editorial@westportnews.co.nz 03 789 7319
Back to top

Radio

Name Email Phone
Newstalk ZB news@newstalkzb.co.nz 09 366 0466
RNZ news@radionz.co.nz 04 474 1999
RadioLIVE news@radiolive.co.nz 09 360 0330
Back to top

TV

Name Email Phone
ONE News news@tvnz.co.nz 04 914 5095
Prime News primenews@skytv.co.nz 09 414 0705
Māori TV shareyournews@maoritelevision.com 09 539 7197
Newshub news@newshub.co.nz 09 928 9000
Back to top

Online

Name Email Phone
BusinessDesk editor@businessdesk.co.nz
Fuseworks Media news@fuseworksmedia.com
Newsroom contact@newsroom.co.nz 09 869 2940
NZ Herald online online-editor@nzherald.co.nz 09 379 5050
NZ Newswire news@nznewswire.co.nz
Scoop editor@scoop.co.nz
Stuff newsroom@stuff.co.nz 04 474 0090
TVNZ Online onlinenews@tvnz.co.nz
Yahoo! New Zealand forbes@yahoo-inc.com
Voxy news@digitaladvance.co.nz
Back to top

Greater Wellington local media

Name Email Phone
Capital editor@capitalmag.co.nz 04 385 1426
Eastbourne Herald editor@eastbourneherald.co.nz 04 562 7500
Hutt News editor@huttnews.co.nz 04 589 7622
Horowhenua Chronicle news@chronicle.co.nz 04 589 7622
Horowhenua Mail editor@horomail.co.nz 04 298 5019
Kapi-Mana News editor@kmananews.co.nz 04 237 8118
Kapiti Observer editor@kapiti-observer.co.nz 04 298 5019
Northern Courier editor@pcn.co.nz 04 237 3220
Upper Hutt Leader editor@uhleader.co.nz 04 528 9654
Wairarapa News editor@wainews.co.nz 06 370 5690
Wellington Suburban Newspapers news@wsn.co.nz 04 587 1660
Wellington Access Radio info@accessradio.org.nz 04 385 8783
The Wellingtonian editor@thewellingtonian.co.nz 04 474 0191
Back to top

Greater Auckland local media

Name Email Phone
The Aucklander news@theaucklander.co.nz 09 373 6969
Auckland City Harbour News julian.raethel@fairfaxmedia.co.nz 09 926 9104
Ponsonby News info@ponsonbynews.co.nz 09 378 8553
Eastern Courier ec@snl.co.nz 09 272 7017
North Harbour News sarah.reeves@fairfaxmedia.co.nz 09 426 5024
Manukau Courier/Papakura Courier edmc@snl.co.nz 09 272 7017
North Shore Times nsnews@snl.co.nz 09 489 4189
Waiheke Marketplace shani.williams@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
Pohutukawa Coast Times info@pctimes.co.nz 09 536 5715
OurAuckland ourauckland@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
Times Live editor@times.co.nz 09 271 8040
East and Bays Courier edeb@snl.co.nz 09 926 9104
Nor-west News ednwn@snl.co.nz 09 412 8589
Western Leader edwl@snl.co.nz 09 837 0340
Devonport Flagstaff devonportflagstaff@orcon.net.nz 09 445 0060
Verve fran@vervemagazine.co.nz 09 520 5939
Central Leader edcl@snl.co.nz 09 926 9104 
Back to top

Back to Media relations